職業生涯

加入 One Community Health 團隊,幫助改變他人的生活。

歷史

我們的根

 

在 1980 年代初期,艾滋病在薩克拉門托社區出現了醜陋的一面,就像在全國許多其他城市一樣。艾滋病是一種肆虐美國被邊緣化的社區的疾病:男同性戀者、注射吸毒者、性工作者、跨性別女性和非裔美國人。

 

顯然,需要齊心協力解決這種疾病。 1989年,我們社區齊心協力,以響亮的方式應對這一流行病。社區倡導者在 UC Davis Health Systems、CHW Mercy、Sutter Health 和薩克拉門託縣的幫助下,成立了艾滋病研究、教育和服務中心 (CARES),為艾滋病毒/艾滋病患者提供服務。幾年後,Kaiser Permanente 加入了這項工作。這些早期的創始人不僅為 1989 年的我們定下了基調,也為未來的所有歲月定下了基調。

 

雖然一些醫生拒絕照顧艾滋病患者,一些政客甚至主張隔離艾滋病病毒感染者,但 CARES 仍然無懼輿論。我們在薩克拉門托宣傳我們的事業,並不斷倡導同情心並為我們的患者增加服務。我們的護理模式被 HIV 世界的許多人所羨慕,它是一種創新且實用的解決方案,可為我們的患者提供一站式服務。服務範圍從醫療保健到病例管理,從提供全方位服務的藥房到租賃援助,從心理保健到營養諮詢。 CARES 承諾為艾滋病病毒感染者提供需要留在護理中的一切。

二十多年來,我們一直致力於艾滋病毒/艾滋病感染者的事業和關懷。這些努力通常遠遠超出我們的設施範圍和基本醫療服務。我們招募人員參與研究,以幫助改善對這種致命疾病的治療。我們提倡將針頭交換計劃作為一項預防性社會服務。我們為社會正義而戰,支持每個人的平等,無論他們的個人選擇和行為如何。在我們的幫助下,同性戀者與宗教團體之間的舊傷得以治愈,人們與之前拒絕他們的家庭重新建立了聯繫。從一開始,我們就致力於整個人,而不僅僅是出現在考場的人的快照。

我們也盡了最大的努力,並將繼續盡最大的努力,在我們的社區結束新的艾滋病毒感染。例如,當薩克拉門託縣再也負擔不起運營診所的費用時,CARES 接管了薩克拉門託縣的 STD 檢測。我們還領導了一項名為“Are You the Difference?”的為期五年的終結 HIV 倡議,當該倡議到期時,我們開始了另一項名為“Zero Together”的長期努力。毫無疑問,CARES 是大薩克拉門托地區 HIV/AIDS 護理的領導者。

 

隨著艾滋病毒研究和護理的進展,感染者得到保證,他們可以過正常的壽命。曾經的流行病,變成了慢性病。作為一個植根於我們社區的組織,我們必須繼續與它一起成長和改變。這意味著幫助人們管理他們的合併症,其中通常包括藥物濫用和心理健康問題,以及糖尿病、高血壓、丙型肝炎和哮喘。我們成為初級保健提供者,治療整個人,而不僅僅是艾滋病毒。

 

隨著“平價醫療法案”的通過,我們最大的改變是——向所有需要護理的人開放我們的診所,而不僅僅是艾滋病毒/艾滋病患者。由於醫療保健領域正在發生變化,很明顯,我們多年來依賴的資金可能會急劇減少。我們需要成為聯邦合格的健康中心 (FQHC)。

 

2011 年,作為成為 FQHC 的過程的一部分,我們向所有人敞開了大門,現在我們擁有的未感染 HIV 的患者比感染該疾病的患者還要多。為了紀念這一變化,我們將自己重新命名為 Cares Community Health,並在 2017 年底更名為 One Community Health。

這一變化擴大了我們在社區中的影響力。感染艾滋病毒的 5 名患者中有 4 名是男性,並且年齡都在 18 歲以上。擴大我們的範圍意味著我們會看到更多的女性,她們可能正在為家庭虐待而苦苦掙扎或需要產前護理。我們看到年輕人、無家可歸的青少年、寄養兒童、經歷過創傷的兒童以及耳痛的兒童。我們看到越來越多的老年人患有多種慢性疾病,需要轉向輔助生活。我們增加了專科護理,包括足病、脊椎按摩和婦科。隨著這些變化,越來越多的各個年齡段的人都可以獲得全面、富有同情心、尊重和賦權的護理。

 

我們患者疾病狀態的變化不會,也永遠不會改變我們的基本價值觀。無論是 CARES 還是 One Community Health,我們的組織仍在推動所有人的平等和邊緣人群的社會正義。我們的醫生和醫療保健專業人員繼續以同情心對待人們,而不是對他們的個人選擇和行為進行評判。我們仍然為每個有需要的人提供相同的服務菜單,我們繼續倡導公眾對諸如圍繞精神疾病的恥辱和每個人都需要醫療保健等問題的認識。

我們在文化能力方面的專業知識,特別是與性取向和性別表達差異相關的專業知識,繼續為許多人提供安全的避風港。我們了解創傷對健康的影響,並正在努力幫助人們治愈這些創傷。當我們看到痛苦時,我們會嘗試治愈它,無論是痛苦的個人還是我們社區中的一個群體。

 

在 One Community Health,我們了解一個人的健康受到多種因素的影響,包括他們生活、工作和娛樂的環境。

 

如果社區不安全,到戶外鍛煉可能是個問題。如果沒有交通工具,那麼上班可能是個問題。如果附近唯一一家雜貨店是缺乏健康負擔得起的食品的便利店,那麼健康飲食就會受到影響。如果我們作為一個組織和一個社區認真對待改善健康結果,我們必須考慮影響一個人實現健康生活能力的所有因素。總的來說,這些問題和條件被稱為健康的社會決定因素。這些健康的社會決定因素的解決方案並不容易,但全國各地的社區正在齊心協力解決這些問題。 One Community Health 也致力於解決這些棘手的問題。

 

近三年來,我們的熱情和信念沒有改變。如果有人問我們為什麼要做這項工作,我們的答案是一樣的。醫療保健不是特權;這是一項人權。每個人都必須有機會獲得最佳健康。和現在一樣,我們的工作是幫助個人和社區減少健康障礙。

Careers

Join the One Community Health team and help make a difference in the lives of others.

One Community Health is a private, nonprofit community health center serving the greater Sacramento area. We believe healthcare isn’t a privilege; it’s a human right. Everyone should have the opportunity to achieve optimal health.

History

Our roots

During the early 1980s, AIDS reared its ugly face in the Sacramento community, as it did in many other cities across the country. AIDS was a disease that ravaged communities that had been marginalized in America: gay men, injection drug users, sex workers, transgender women and African Americans.

Clearly, this disease needed to be addressed with a concerted effort. In 1989, our community joined forces to address the epidemic in a resounding way. Community advocates, along with the help of UC Davis Health Systems, CHW Mercy, Sutter Health and the County of Sacramento, formed the Center for AIDS Research, Education and Services (CARES) to serve people with HIV/AIDS. A few years later, Kaiser Permanente joined the effort. These early founders set the tone not only for who we were in 1989, but also for all the years to come.

While some doctors refused to care for those with AIDS, and a few politicians even advocated for quarantining people with HIV, CARES remained fearless of public opinion. We made our cause known in Sacramento and continuously advocated for compassion and increased services for our patients. Our model of care was envied by many in the HIV world as an innovative and practical solution that offered our patients everything under one roof. Services ranged from medical care to case management, from a full-service pharmacy to rental assistance, and from mental health care to nutrition counseling. CARES committed itself to having everything that someone with HIV would need to stay in care.

For more than two decades we have devoted ourselves to the cause and care of people with HIV/AIDS. These efforts often extended well beyond the walls of our facilities and beyond basic medical services. We enrolled people in research studies to help improve treatment of the deadly disease. We advocated for needle exchange programs as a preventive social service. We battled for social justice, supporting equality for everyone, regardless of their personal choices and behaviors. With our help, old wounds were healed between gay men and those in the religious community, and people were reconnected with the families that had previously rejected them. From the beginning, we were committed to the whole person, not just the snapshot of the person who showed up in an exam room.

We also did our best, and continue to do our best, to end new infections of HIV in our community. For example, CARES took over Sacramento County’s STD testing when the county could no longer afford to operate their clinics. We also led a five-year initiative to end HIV, known as Are You the Difference?, and when it expired, we started another long-term effort known as Zero Together. There is no question that CARES was the leader in HIV/AIDS care in the greater Sacramento area.

As HIV research and care progressed, those infected were assured that they could live a normal life span. What was once an epidemic, became a chronic disease. As an organization rooted in our community, it was essential that we continue to grow and change with it. This meant helping people manage their comorbidities, which often included substance abuse and mental health issues, as well as diabetes, high blood pressure, Hepatitis C, and asthma. We became primary care providers, treating the whole person, not just HIV.

With the passage of the Affordable Care Act, came our biggest change of all—opening our clinic to everyone in need of care, not just those living with HIV/AIDS. Because of the changes being made in healthcare, it became apparent that the funding we had relied upon for so many years was likely to decrease dramatically. We needed to become a federally qualified health center (FQHC).

In 2011, as part of the process to become an FQHC, we opened our doors to everyone and we now have more patients without HIV than we do with the disease. To mark that change we renamed ourselves Cares Community Health and in late 2017, changed our name to One Community Health.

This change expanded our reach in the community. With HIV, 4 out of 5 patients were men and all were over 18 years of age. Expanding our scope means we see many more women, women who may be struggling with domestic abuse or who need pre-natal care. We see young people, homeless teens, foster children, children who have experienced trauma, and kids who just have an earache. We see more seniors who suffer from multiple chronic diseases and need to move to assisted living. We added specialty care including podiatry, chiropractic, and gynecology. With these changes many more people of all ages have access to comprehensive, compassionate, respectful and empowering care.

The change in the disease status of our patients does not, nor will it ever, change our essential values. Whether CARES or One Community Health, our organization still pushes for equality for all and for social justice for those on the margins. Our doctors and health care professionals continue to treat people with compassion, without judgment for their personal choices and behavior. We still provide the same menu of services to everyone in need, and we continue to advocate for public awareness of such issues as the stigma surrounding mental illness and the need

for healthcare for everyone. Our expertise in cultural competency, especially related to sexual orientation and gender expression variance, continues to provide a safe haven for many. We understand the impact of trauma on one’s health and are working to help people heal those wounds. When we see suffering, we try to heal it whether it be an individual in pain or a group in our community.

At One Community Health, we understand that a person’s health is influenced by a variety of factors, including the environment in which they live, work, and play.

If a neighborhood is unsafe, getting outside to exercise may be a problem. If transportation doesn’t exist, getting to work can be an issue. Eating healthy can be impacted if the only nearby grocery store is a convenience store lacking in healthy affordable foods. If we as an organization and a community are serious about improving health outcomes, we have to look at everything that impacts a person’s ability to achieve a healthy life. Collectively, these issues and conditions are known as the social determinants of health. The solutions to these social determinants of health are not easy, but communities across the country are coming together to tackle them. One Community Health is committed to tackling these tough issues as well.

For nearly three decades, our passion and beliefs have not changed. If someone were to ask us why we do this work, our answer remains the same. Healthcare isn’t a privilege; it is a human right. Everyone must have the opportunity to achieve optimal health. Then as now, we’ve made it our job to help individuals and the community reduce the barriers to wellness.